Skip navigation

Welcome to the fourteenth installment of the EVE Blog Banter, the monthly EVE Online blogging extravaganza created by CrazyKinux. The EVE Blog Banter involves an enthusiastic group of gaming bloggers, a common topic within the realm of EVE Online, and a week to post articles pertaining to the said topic. The resulting articles can either be short or quite extensive, either funny or dead serious, but are always a great fun to read! Any questions about the EVE Blog Banter should be directed to crazykinux@gmail.com. Check out other EVE Blog Banter articles at the bottom of this post!

The first banter of 2010 comes to us from the EVE Blog Father, CrazyKinux himself, who asks the following: As we begin another year in New Eden, ask yourselves “What Now?” What will I attempt next? What haven’t I done so far in EVE? Was it out fear, funds, or knowledge? Have I always wanted to start my own corporation, but have never dared doing so? Is there a fledging mercenary waiting to come out of its shell? Or maybe an Industrialist? What steps and objectives will I set myself to accomplish in order to reach my ultimate goal for this year? EVE is what you make of it. So, what is it going to be for you?


There I sat another failed T2 blueprint.  How was I going to make this work?  What was I missing?  I couldn’t believe that I just destroyed another blueprint copy.  As I held my head in one hand and the Industrial Job report in the other, I could hear the door to my lab slide open.

“Yes?” I asked

“Sir, something just arrived for you.” Tegan replied, “It’s from Villore.”

Villore? My thoughts started racing. “Is there a return name on that delivery?”

“No sir, just a container with a sealed package inside.”

I got up from my desk and walked over to the table with a stainless steel container.  Tegan, my head lab assistant, lifted the package out of the container, set it down in front of me, and then left.  As I placed my hand on the bio-sensor, the package unsealed, allowing me to see inside – books?  Who would send me books?  On the top of the books was an envelope with a hand written message inside.  It was in my grandfather’s handwriting, but he had passed away a couple months ago.  The message pointed me to a holovid.  As I rotated the cylinder, the holovid activated, and the lasers brought my grandfather’s bust into focus.

“Mithrandir Stormcrow, son of Tharkun Stormcrow, grandson of Olorin Stormcrow – my grandson.  If you are viewing this, it means my life has passed from me.  I hope you were able to attend the memorial.  I hope you have sought amends  with your father.  He’s a good man and loves you even if he doesn’t say anything.  When you were a child, you spent many hours in my lab watching me develop new technologies and learned the ways…”

He went on to tell me how he changed when he became a politician.  How he sent innocent people to prison for threatening the ideals of the Federation.  How he became greedy and slandered some of the very scientists he worked side by side with.  And in the midst of tears, he begged for my forgiveness.  He then explained how he had followed my efforts in Kusomonmon and then to Fensi and Jeni.  He then told me what his final wish was for me.

“…I sent you this package of books because I knew you were still pursuing Science and Technology Development.  You still sought the beauty and grace of design.  Use them to your fullest.  I will forever be proud of you.”

As soon as it started, my grandfather’s message was done and with a click, the holovid’s lasers shut off.  I rifled through the package – skill books, lab reports, finally I found it.

I pulled the ancient, hand-made leather satchel out of the package and opened the buckles.  There it was, my grandfather’s first invention.  A datafile that not only recorded data, but voice as well.  This datafile contained all of Grandfather’s personal journaling.

“Tegan! Power up the blueprint copies, prep the data core interfaces, I have the key to these inventions!  This year will be the year of Tech 2 production for Tiph’arah.”

To read more amazing Blog Banter, check out these other participants:

  1. CrazyKinux’s Musing – A beginning is a very delicate time…
  2. The Wandering Druid of Tranquility – Words, words, words…
  3. My God It’s Full of Stars – What Now?
  4. The Elitist – Plans for 112yc
  5. Into the unknown with gun and camera – Show me the money
  6. Ecliptic Rift – Enabling the future
  7. Inanity and Doom – New Year’s Resolutions, New Eden Style
  8. Break Vol – Blog Banter #14
  9. Guns Ablaze – What Now?
  10. Adventures in Mission Running – The Way Forward
  11. Diary of a Pod Pilot – Things I want to do
  12. Inner Sanctum of the Ninveah – The Year That Will Be
  13. Roc’s Ramblings – WordPress ate my blog
  14. Vive Virtual – Frontier Living
  15. A Mule in EVE – Next on the chopping block
  16. Prano’s Journey – I Peer Into My Crystal Pod…
  17. Life in Low Sec – Expanding the Franchise
  18. The Light of Stars – Testing the claims of CCP
  19. A Memoir From Space – A New Direction
  20. The Chronofile – Blog Banter 2010
  21. FlashFresh – What now for Flash?
  22. EVE Opportunist – Fyreite in 112
  23. Mike Azariah – Jiorj
  24. Yarrbear Tales – Year in Review
  25. The Independant Analyst – The Year Ahead
  26. The Travels of Black Claw – Where ma I going?
  27. Warp Scrammed – What to do this year
  28. Sered’s Lives – Searching for directions in 2010
  29. Finders & Keepers – New Tears, Same Great Taste
  30. The Captain’s Log – To Dream of the Future
  31. The Lathspell of Mithrandir – Resolutions
  32. The Midnight Sun – EVE Blog Banter #14
One Comment

  1. Invention is fun stuff. Hopefully the market will balance itself out in this regard in 2010 for us all!


5 Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. […] The Lathspell of Mithrandir – Resolutions […]

  2. […] The Lathspell of Mithrandir – Resolutions […]

  3. […] The Lathspell of Mithrandir – Resolutions […]

  4. […] The Lathspell of Mithrandir – Resolutions […]

  5. By Blog Banter 14: Plans for 112yc | TheElitist on 02 Mar 2011 at 3:46 pm

    […] The Lathspell of Mithrandir – Resolutions […]

Leave a Reply

